Various Artists

Monsta Jamz [1 CD]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Monsta Jamz is an 18-song collection of some of the '90s' biggest R&B hits. It serves as a very solid picture of what the scene was like at the time; listening to the disc is like listening to a great R&B station in the mid-'90s. There is a good blend of hip-hop-influenced jams like "No Diggity" by Blackstreet and "Ghetto Supastar (That Is What You Are)" by Pras, romantic slow jams like "Bump 'n Grind" by R. Kelly and "On Bended Knee" by Boyz II Men, and some plain old great songs like "Candy Rain" by Soul for Real and "Pony" by Ginuwine, which has super-funky production by the mighty Timbaland. The mid-'90s were a high point for girl groups and singers. Monsta Jamz bears proof of this with some early Destiny's Child ("No, No, No Part 2"), Aaliyah ("Age Ain't Nothing but a Number"), Jade ("Don't Walk Away"), and Adina Howard (the nasty "Freak Like Me"). Monsta Jamz is a fun and funky trip down memory lane and a strong argument for the view that the '90s were not a musical low-point for R&B.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 03:27
2 04:18
3 04:56
4 04:17
5 04:14
7 04:11
8 03:01
9 04:02
10 04:51
11 04:33
12 04:21
13 04:42
14 04:33
15 04:13
16 03:43
17 04:10
18 04:12
blue highlight denotes track pick