Los Straitjackets / Southern Culture on the Skids / The Fleshtones

Mondo Zombie Boogaloo: 100 Years of Roc

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This 15-song set is a lot of things at once. For one, it's a sampler from Yep Roc Records of three of the bands signed to the label, Southern Culture on the Skids, Los Straitjackets, and the Fleshtones. Second, it's a bit of a loss-leader advertisement, since the three bands are currently touring together. Third, it's a Halloween-themed set, so it's kind of a seasonal holiday release as well. Lastly, it's a whole lot of fun, a whole lot of rockin' spooky fun, complete with tracks like "¡Ghostbusters!" (Los Straitjackets), "Haunted Hipster" (the Fleshtones), and "The Loneliest Ghost in Town" (Southern Culture on the Skids), while all three bands collaborate on "Que Monstruos Son," a Spanish-language version of the Halloween perennial "The Monster Mash."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:11
2 2:31
3 2:53
5 3:00
6 3:18
7 3:10
8 1:56
9 3:03
10 4:06
11 2:24
12 3:14
13 2:39
14 2:10
15 4:42
blue highlight denotes track pick