They Might Be Giants

Miscellaneous T

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Several of They Might Be Giants finest songs were buried on B-sides, which makes the rarities compilation Miscellaneous T such a welcome addition to their catalog. While several of these songs are nothing but endearing jokes ("Mr. Klaw," "Lady Is a Tramp," "For Science"), there are just as many gems. "We're the Replacements" is a fun homage to the Minneapolis legends, "The Famous Polk" is silly and infectious, "It's Not My Birthday" has a great hook, as does "Nightgown of the Sullen Moon," while "Hey Mr. DJ, I Thought You Said We Had a Deal" is a fun satire. Songs like these often capture the irreverent sense of humor that the group lost when they signed to a major label.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:48 SpotifyAmazon
2 1:20 SpotifyAmazon
3 1:25 SpotifyAmazon
4 5:43 Spotify
5 1:58 SpotifyAmazon
6 2:36 SpotifyAmazon
7 1:51 SpotifyAmazon
8 0:56 SpotifyAmazon
9 1:20 SpotifyAmazon
10 1:48 Spotify
11 1:22 SpotifyAmazon
12 1:19 SpotifyAmazon
14 2:20 Spotify
15 1:33 SpotifyAmazon
16 1:33 SpotifyAmazon
17 1:50 SpotifyAmazon
18 2:34 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick