Alan Pasqua


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

West Coast-based pianist Alan Pasqua makes his debut in fine acoustic jazz fashion, backed by a big-name rhythm section: Dave Holland and Jack DeJohnette. Michael Brecker contributes smoking tenor on "Rio Grande," "The Law of Diminishing Returns," and "L'Inverno." On "Acoma," "A Sleeping Child," "I'll Take You Home Again, Kathleen," and Cole Porter's "All Of You," Pasqua swings effortlessly in a subtle trio idiom. The switch between 4/4 and 3/4 time on the melody choruses of "All of You" is particularly clever and effective.

The remainder of the selections feature a small background horn section that includes -- in different combinations -- John Clark on French horn, Willie Olenick on trumpet and flugelhorn, Roger Rosenberg on alto flute, Jack Schatz on trombone and bass trombone, and Dave Tofani on bass clarinet. The orchestral effect is not unlike that heard on Herbie Hancock's Speak Like a Child. Compositionally, the beautiful ballad "Twilight" and the majestic title track stand out.

blue highlight denotes track pick