Michael Feinstein

Michael Feinstein Sings the Burton Lane Songbook, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Though Michael Feinstein had previously devoted an entire album to one songwriter, this album marked the formal beginning of his Songbook series, and he worked closely with Broadway and Hollywood composer Burton Lane, who accompanied him on piano and duetted on the leadoff track, "Applause, Applause." In addition to performing such familiar Lane works as "How Are Things In Glocca Morra?" (as part of a Finian's Rainbow medley), "How About You?" (as part of a Babes on Broadway medley), and "How Could You Believe Me When I Said I Love You When You Know I've Been a Liar All My Life," Feinstein also premiered two new Lane compositions, "I Can Hardly Wait" (lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman) and "And Suddenly It's Christmas" (lyrics by Ervin Drake). Since Lane never attracted the kind of anthologies devoted to the work of his peers, this album is especially valuable. Note, however, that Lane's best-known song, "On a Clear Day You Can See Forever," is missing.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
feat: Burton Lane
2 3:56
3 1:20
4 3:35
5 3:11
6 1:03
7 2:44
8 2:29
9 2:47
10 3:25
11 2:39
12 3:22
13 2:40
14 3:14
15 3:29
16 2:45
17 3:14
18 3:04
19 3:27
20 2:11
blue highlight denotes track pick