Jackie Wilson

Merry Christmas from Jackie Wilson/The Christmas Album

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Jackie Wilson's MERRY CHRISTMAS was released in 1963, a time of great popularity for Christmas-themed recordings. Wilson, a vocal virtuoso whose soaring command was downright operatic, eschews light Christmas songs in favor of traditional renderings of holiday classics. Everything from "Silent Night" to "White Christmas" to "O Little Town of Bethlehem" is tackled with reverence.

The other half of this disc finds an equally accomplished R&B vocalist taking on holiday fare. Recorded just prior to Al Green's leaving secular music to join the ministry, THE CHRISTMAS ALBUM puts a disco and funk spin on lighter Christmas fare, including "Winter Wonderland," "Jingle Bells," and a Green-arranged version of the traditional "Feels Like Christmas." Green also delivers a stirring version of "O Holy Night."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Jackie Wilson 02:49 Amazon
2 Jackie Wilson 03:05 Amazon
3 Jackie Wilson 02:23 Amazon
4 Jackie Wilson 03:43 Amazon
5 Jackie Wilson 01:16 Amazon
6 Jackie Wilson 02:56 Amazon
7 Jackie Wilson 02:02 Amazon
8 Jackie Wilson 02:42 Amazon
9 Jackie Wilson 02:02 Amazon
10 Jackie Wilson 02:12 Amazon
11 Jackie Wilson 02:42 Amazon
12 Jackie Wilson 01:48 Amazon
13 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 02:33 Amazon
14 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 03:26 Amazon
15 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 02:06 Amazon
16 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 03:14 Amazon
17 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 01:58 Amazon
18 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 03:43 Amazon
19 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 03:40 Amazon
20 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 03:17 Amazon
21 Jackie Wilson feat: Al Green 03:31 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick