Various Artists

Masterpiece: The Ultimate Disco Funk Collection, Vol. 9

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The ninth volume of Masterpiece: The Ultimate Disco Funk Collection falls somewhere in the middle of the series' pack. It offers a handful of excellent cuts surrounded by marginal content that should be of interest to '80s R&B fanatics only. The cream here amounts to the phenomenal Larry Levan mix of Tracy Weber's "Sure Shot" (RFC, 1981), interracial U.K. group Second Image's super sweet "Starting Again" (MCA, 1985), Nick Straker Band's "Straight Ahead" (released on Prelude in 1982, though not nearly as hot as "A Little Bit of Jazz"), and Alton McClain & Destiny outgrowth Krystol's "Don't Change Your Ways" (Epic, 1984).