Marc Shaiman / Scott Wittman

Mary Poppins Returns [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Bringing the popular children's books character to theaters for the first time since 1964, 2018's Mary Poppins Returns very much captures the spirit of the original Disney film musical, in terms of both tone and substance. With Emily Blunt taking over as an ageless, practically perfect Poppins visiting the now-grown children from the classic film, the sequel is set 25 years later, in Depression-era London. It features a new family crisis, the precocious children of Michael Banks, a lengthy combined live action-animated segment, a singing/dancing lamplighter (the effortless Lin-Manuel Miranda), other larger-than-life characters, and tuneful, graceful lyrical rhymes focused on life lessons as well as wordplay. The script and lyrics also have an arguably refreshing lack of contemporary references and irony, with the possible exception of a cheerful closing number that features the refrain "There's Nowhere to Go But Up." The score and songs were written by Marc Shaiman, with help on lyrics from Scott Wittman, who previously collaborated with Shaiman on the Broadway musicals Hairspray, Catch Me if You Can, and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. A stage version may be inevitable with tunes like the music hall-styled "The Cover Is Not the Book," the tongue-twisting "The Royal Doulton Music Hall," wistful ballad "The Place Where Lost Things Go" -- all led capably by Blunt -- and the big dance number "Trip a Little Light Fantastic" featuring Miranda. The soundtrack also offers performances by Dick Van Dyke, Meryl Streep, and Angela Lansbury, who sings lead on "Nowhere to Go But Up" as the Balloon Lady. Tracks from Shaiman's spirited original score are included, following the overture and songs.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:48
2 2:28
feat: Ben Whishaw
4 4:22
5 3:01
6 0:31
7 4:25
feat: Emily Blunt
9 4:20
10 7:02
11 1:30
12 0:46
13 5:45
14 1:52
15 1:38
16 2:40
17 1:41
18 1:33
19 0:43
20 1:58
21 4:01
22 2:53
23 1:11
24 0:59
25 2:32
26 4:55
27 5:17
blue highlight denotes track pick