Mariss Jansons / Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Mariss Jansons Live: The Radio Recordings, 1990-2014

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Mariss Jansons and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra have recorded a substantial body of work for radio broadcast, and this sturdy box set from RCO comprises their live performances that aired between 1990 and 2014. Presented on 13 CDs and one DVD, the selections represent the greatest composers of the Romantic, post-Romantic, and modern periods, and their works are often programmed in thought-provoking combinations to reflect salient features (the matchup of Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique and Ravel's La Valse is a case in point). Because Jansons is a prolific recording artist, this set merely scratches the surface of his vast output, though collectors who worry about duplication of works will find that little here can be found elsewhere. These broadcasts are quite representative of Jansons' varied interests and tastes, and the sound quality of the recordings is comparable to his recordings on RCO Live, with a clarity that sometimes matches his audiophile discs.

Track Listing - Disc 10

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 10:10 Amazon
Un re in ascolto
2 02:10 Amazon
La vera storia
3 03:40 Amazon
4 02:23 Amazon
La vera storia
5 03:26 Amazon
6 24:38 Amazon
Mysteriën (Version No. 1)
7 05:32 Amazon
8 04:29 Amazon
9 04:46 Amazon
10 05:09 Amazon
11 05:04 Amazon
12 05:29 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 14

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
DVD Bonus
1 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick