Manfred Mann

Mann Made Hits

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first greatest-hits compilation devoted to Manfred Mann's hits, Mann Made Hits was one of the great dance albums of its era and has held up about as well as those hits, which is to say, really well. Originally released in England on EMI's Columbia imprint, it opens up with the cheerful, soulful pop of "Pretty Flamingo" but quickly branches into the group's more R&B-focused work ("On No, Not My Baby," "Come Tomorrow," "There's No Living Without Your Loving"), their bluesier sides ("I'm Your Kingpin"), their folk-influenced output ("John Hardy," "With God on Our Side," "If You Gotta Go, Go Now"), and their harder jazz side ("Spirit Feel"), without missing their biggest pop hits ("Do Wah Diddy Didd," "Sha La La," "5-4-3-2-1"). This is about the best original vinyl compilation there ever was on this band, and one can also see the quandary EMI was in when they issued it -- having dropped the group in the wake of Paul Jones's departure for a solo career in 1966, presuming that the band's prospects were limited (while they held on to Jones), the front cover is labeled "Manfred Mann With Paul Jones." As it turned out, they were selling the band short, as the latter enjoyed three more years of hits, but this is still a killer farewell to the Paul Jones-era, even if it has been supplanted by numerous more comprehensive compilations since.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:29 Amazon
2 2:38 Amazon
3 2:21 Amazon
4 2:05 Amazon
5 2:39 Amazon
2:44 Amazon
7 2:23 Amazon
8 2:39 Amazon
9 4:25 Amazon
10 3:41 Amazon
11 2:43 Amazon
12 2:30 Amazon
13 1:59 Amazon
14 2:30 Amazon
15 2:20
16 2:27
17 2:03
18 2:16
19 2:25
20 2:34
21 3:47
22 2:34
23 2:26
24 2:47
25 3:05
26 1:09 Amazon
27 2:22 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick