Manilyn Reynes

Manilyn Reynes -- OPM Timeless Collection, Gold Series 4

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In 2000, Philippine major label OctoArts/EMI released Manilyn Reynes -- OPM Timeless Collection, Gold Series 4, a collection of songs recorded by Philippine singer Manilyn Reynes for OctoArts on five albums between 1990 and 1996. The album contains 16 songs, all of which are easy listening or middle-of-the-road tunes. Most of the songs are slow, though five of the middle-of-the-road numbers -- "Sayang Na Sayang" (What a Waste), "Feel Na Feel" (Feel, Feel), "Sabik Na Sabik" (Very Eager), "Mr. Disco," and "Shake It Baby" -- are upbeat. On the whole, though, the songs are slow, easy, and bland. Many songs tend to sound alike, a problem that plagues many easy listening albums in the Philippines. In addition, the upbeat songs sound flashy and have a show business type of sound. While these kinds of songs are popular in the Philippines, they don't have much of an audience outside the country. The opening, "Sayang Na Sayang," starts on a slow note, then swells to an upbeat ambience, with that show business strain running through it. Reynes' voice isn't very strong here or elsewhere on the album, though she sounds much stronger on some other songs, including "Mula Sa Puso Ko" (From My Heart) and "Somewhere Along the Way." On "Together Forever" (not to be mistaken for the hit by Ricky Astley), Reynes duets with Philippine crooner Rico J. Puno and, while the song is pleasant, there isn't much to distinguish it from the other easy listening songs. This is a bland album, and even a bit strange.

blue highlight denotes track pick