Howard McGhee

Maggie: The Savoy Sessions

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This single CD put out by the Japanese Denon label has 23 of the 27 selections put out a decade earlier on a two-LP set. Worse than the omissions was the decision to duplicate the liner notes and reprint them so small as to be microscopic. The first half of this set is actually quite good, featuring trumpeter Howard McGhee jamming with a talented sextet that co-stars altoist Jimmy Heath and vibraphonist Milt Jackson and with another group that has solo space for Billy Eckstine on his surprisingly effective valve trombone. The remainder of the CD is much weaker, music recorded in Guam by McGhee, trombonist J.J. Johnson and tenor saxophonist Rudy Williams with a pianoless rhythm trio. Guitarist Skeeter Best is not strong enough to make up for the lack of a piano and some of the repertoire (including an attempt at a brief history-of-jazz) does not work that well. It is best to hold on to the original two-LP set. Otherwise, this CD is mostly recommended for the two earlier dates.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:06 Amazon
2 01:57 Amazon
3 02:52 Amazon
4 02:58 Amazon
5 02:49 Amazon
6 03:01 Amazon
7 02:11 Amazon
feat: Jimmy McHugh
02:55 Amazon
9 02:46 Amazon
10 02:31 Amazon
11 02:47 Amazon
12 02:24 Amazon
04:19 Amazon
14 02:38 Amazon
15 02:02 Amazon
16 03:48 Amazon
17 02:14 Amazon
18 05:21 Amazon
19 03:08 Amazon
20 05:00 Amazon
21 03:27 Amazon
22 03:25 Amazon
03:26 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick