Madhouse: The Very Best of Anthrax

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Why the release of one Anthrax hits collection (1999's Return of the Killer A's) so close to another (2001's Madhouse: The Very Best of Anthrax), you ask? Well, the answer's simple -- the latest one is not the doing of the band, but their former label, Island. The 12-track set covers just the band's highlights from 1985's Spreading the Disease up to 1991's Attack of the Killer B's. Granted, there are quite a few thrash metal classics here ("A.I.R.," "I Am the Law," "Indians," "Antisocial," "Got the Time"), as well as some of the first-ever rap-metal experiments ("I'm the Man," "Bring the Noise"), the latter almost single-handedly laying the groundwork for such future hitmaking '90s acts as Rage Against the Machine and Limp Bizkit. The earlier set, Return of the Killer A's, proves to be the better of the two since it covers more ground, but if you're looking for a budget-priced collection that covers Anthrax's peak years, Madhouse: The Very Best of Anthrax manages to do the trick.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:18 SpotifyAmazon
2 5:48 SpotifyAmazon
3 5:45 SpotifyAmazon
4 5:56 SpotifyAmazon
5 5:41 SpotifyAmazon
6 5:00 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:04 SpotifyAmazon
8 4:27 SpotifyAmazon
9 4:47 SpotifyAmazon
10 6:55 SpotifyAmazon
11 7:09 SpotifyAmazon
feat: Public Enemy
3:30 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick