Lucky Day

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Both commercially and creatively, Hot Shot was a tough act to follow. That 2000 release boasted some of Shaggy's best work (including the naughty smash "It Wasn't Me"), and it sold an impressive ten million units internationally. So when the time came to record a follow-up, Shaggy no doubt felt the sort of pressure that Janet Jackson felt when she recorded a follow-up to Control. This October 2002 release is Shaggy's first album of new material since Hot Shot, although MCA did release an album of Shaggy remixes in early 2002. And even though Lucky Day isn't quite in a class with Hot Shot, it is still an enjoyable follow-up. The album is full of the type of congenial, good-natured crossover dancehall that Shaggy is best known for; those who don't mind the fact that Shaggy is very much a crossover artist won't be disappointed to learn that infectious ditties like "Get My Party On" (which boasts a cameo by guest Chaka Khan) and "Shake Shake Shake" have a lot of pop and urban contemporary appeal. But Lucky Day doesn't come across as formulaic, and Shaggy -- for all his commercial moves -- isn't afraid to offer some surprises. "Hey Sexy Lady" successfully fuses dancehall and funk with Spanish flamenco; it's an unlikely combination, but one that works. And Shaggy, who specializes in lighthearted fun, brings a surprisingly serious tone to "Lost" (a warning against the dangers of crime and street life) and "Walking in My Shoes" (which is about persevering despite challenges and adversity). Although not Shaggy's most essential album, Lucky Day is a rewarding effort that takes its share of chances -- both musically and lyrically.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:26 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:50 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:32 SpotifyAmazon
feat: Tony Gold
3:20 SpotifyAmazon
5 4:43 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:21 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:50 SpotifyAmazon
8 3:29 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:15 SpotifyAmazon
10 3:52 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:30 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:46 SpotifyAmazon
13 2:53 SpotifyAmazon
14 4:33 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick