Cafe Soul All Stars

Love Pages

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Love Pages is a star-studded collection of great songs performed by the aptly titled collective named Cafe Soul All-Stars. The group features such great musicians as George Benson, Peabo Bryson, Glenn Jones, Vesta, Christopher Williams, Jon Lucien, and Roy Ayers performing great ballads, up-tempo dance, jazz, and soul while accompanied by a core group of equally renown sessions musicians including Leon "Ndugu" Chancler, Bobby Lyle, Duke Jones, and Alex Bass. "Don't Make Me Cry" features Peabo Bryson delivering his trademark emotions on a dramatic, heartfelt ballad. With Bobby Lyle, Freddie Washington on bass, Ndugu on drums, Boney James on sax, and Paul Jackson, Jr. on guitar, it doesn't get much better than this. Vesta's version of "One More Bridge to Cross" showcases her soulful vocal prowess while Maysa, the soul/jazz frontwoman of Incognito is helped along by former Atlantic Starr members Sharon Bryant, Porter Carroll, and Duke Jones on "I'm Changing." One of the most beautiful songs on the CD is "To Be with You," which features the great baritone voice of Jon Lucien, while "U and I," which features the deep, mellow, and very soulful voice of Denise Stewart and Duke Jones, will bring back memories of the late Phyllis Hyman. Top pick: "You Don't Have to Say You're Sorry." With all this great talent on one recording, you're sure to enjoy the atmosphere, seductive nuance, and dreamy doses of soul, jazz, and Latin fusion served up by the Cafe Soul All-Stars.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
feat: Glenn Jones
3:37 Spotify
feat: Peabo Bryson
5:08 Spotify
3 3:57 Spotify
feat: Vesta
3:58 Spotify
feat: Maysa
4:06 Spotify
feat: Bobby Lyle
4:45 Spotify
feat: Jon Lucien
3:53 Spotify
8 6:08 Spotify
9 4:20 Spotify
feat: Jazmyn
4:46 Spotify
feat: Maysa
4:45 Spotify
12 3:35 Spotify
13 3:47 Spotify
14 4:32 Spotify
5:16 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick