Janis Joplin

Love, Janis

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Since this is a companion CD to the off-Broadway stage musical Love, Janis, it alternates classic tracks from her Big Brother & the Holding Company and solo albums with spoken excerpts from letters to her family (read by Catherine Curtin, not by Joplin herself). No album that contains "Piece of My Heart," "Summertime," "Ball & Chain," "Me and Bobby McGee," and "Get It While You Can" can be dismissed with the absolute lowest rating. But really, this is not an advisable way to hear these songs, either as an introduction or a best-of. If it's the music you care about, all of the material is easily available on the Big Brother and Joplin solo albums (except for the 1962 performance of "What Good Can Drinkin' Do," which is on the Janis box set). If you want to read the letters, you can buy the book Love, Janis, written by her sister, Laura Joplin. If you live in the right place, you can even see the play. This jumble of well-traveled tunes is just an attempt to wring more mileage out of the Joplin back catalog.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:49 Spotify
2 2:43
3 2:04 Amazon
4 1:39
5 2:03 SpotifyAmazon
6 1:11 Spotify
7 4:14 SpotifyAmazon
8 0:51
9 2:02
10 3:58 SpotifyAmazon
11 1:35
12 9:26 SpotifyAmazon
13 2:01 Spotify
14 3:27 SpotifyAmazon
15 1:29
16 3:55 SpotifyAmazon
17 1:07 Spotify
18 3:48 SpotifyAmazon
19 2:18
20 4:29 SpotifyAmazon
21 2:12 SpotifyAmazon
22 1:44 Spotify
23 3:23 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick