Phyllis Dillon

Love Is All I Had: A Tribute to the Queen of Jamaican Soul

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A reluctant pop star if ever there was one, Phyllis Dillon balanced a recording career in Jamaica with a job in the U.S. working in a bank. Love Is All I Had is the most comprehensive collection of her work to date, packed to the brim with a staggering 29 cuts of vintage rocksteady and early reggae, all cut with Duke Reid for his Treasure Isle imprint. The earliest songs from Love Is All I Had date from 1967 (with the exception of Dillon's 1966 self-penned debut, "Don't Stay Away"), and exude an innocence common in the best sides from the Shirelles, Lesley Gore, and exponents of the girl group sound. Dillon's cover of Bettye Swann's "Make Me Yours" is such a song, while her original "It's Rocking Time" would help to define the rocksteady era itself. Although she will always be associated with rocksteady, Dillon recorded some great reggae as well. While her take on the Grass Roots' "Midnight Confessions" and role-reversing cover of Eric Donaldson's "Cherry Oh Baby" as "Eddie Oh Baby" haven't aged too well, her pulsing cover of Marlena Shaw's "Woman of the Ghetto" remains a dancefloor classic. No matter what she's singing, though, it's hard not to fall in love with her voice, making even touristy cuts like the randy "Don't Touch Me Tomato" worth hearing.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:33 Amazon
02:50 Amazon
03:09 Amazon
4 02:42 Amazon
5 02:20 Amazon
6 02:55 Amazon
7 02:46 Amazon
8 02:49 Amazon
9 02:26 Amazon
10 02:10 Amazon
11 02:58 Amazon
feat: Alton Ellis
02:38 Amazon
feat: Alton Ellis
02:38 Amazon
14 02:46 Amazon
15 02:15 Amazon
16 02:20 Amazon
17 02:28 Amazon
18 02:15 Amazon
feat: Alton Ellis
02:37 Amazon
02:05 Amazon
02:32 Amazon
22 02:32 Amazon
03:22 Amazon
03:05 Amazon
25 02:43 Amazon
26 02:43 Amazon
03:28 Amazon
28 02:54 Amazon
29 02:53 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick