Marian McPartland

Lookin for a Boy

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Looking for a Boy is a reissue of a 1958 Savoy compilation devoted to three jazz pianists and their trios: Marian McPartland, Adelaide Robbins, and Barbara Carroll. McPartland is by far the best known of the three, and her half of the album -- cut live in 1953 during her Hickory House days with Joe Morello on drums -- are among her earliest recordings. The CD adds two bonus tracks by McPartland, "Once in a While" and "I've Got the World on a String," from the same performance. Robbins' and Carroll's portions are studio sessions from 1956 and 1950, respectively. It is a telling commentary on the times that these capable pianists were lumped together on an album with sultry artwork and a boy-crazy title, but the music easily transcends the kitschy packaging.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:25 Amazon
2 03:02 Amazon
3 03:31 Amazon
4 03:45 Amazon
5 03:31 Amazon
6 04:23 Amazon
7 02:57 Amazon
8 04:16 Amazon
9 03:17 Amazon
10 05:06 Amazon
11 03:04 Amazon
12 02:51 Amazon
13 03:19 Amazon
14 02:19 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick