Marion Harris

Look for the Silver Lining

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Although Marion Harris has already been served well by a compilation from the experts at Archeophone, many of her biggest hits were released well after the period covered by that collection, and Living Era's Look for the Silver Lining provides a much more accurate portrait of one of the most popular singers of the '20s. Except for the opening title song, it follows a chronological arc, compiling all of her hits of the '10s and '20s: "They Go Wild, Simply Wild, Over Me," "After You've Gone," "A Good Man Is Hard to Find," "St. Louis Blues," and "Tea for Two." Unlike many of the vaudeville females who preceded her, Harris could swing blues-based material without sounding out of her league, and unlike many of the pop females who followed, she had the power to deliver her songs without sounding shrill. By the early '20s, most of her material came from the musical stage (where she also appeared), often among the best from the pen of Gus Kahn ("It Had to Be You") and George Gershwin ("Somebody Loves Me," "The Man I Love"). Considering her many unflattering contemporaries, Harris was a sympathetic interpreter of all she recorded, and her later slide into obscurity can't be attributed to the quality of her material.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:00 Amazon
2 3:13 Amazon
3 3:17 Amazon
4 3:25 Amazon
3:15 Amazon
6 3:04 Amazon
7 2:59 Amazon
8 3:08 Amazon
9 3:16 Amazon
10 3:07 Amazon
11 3:16 Amazon
2:45 Amazon
2:39 Amazon
14 3:12 Amazon
15 3:19 Amazon
16 2:58 Amazon
17 3:22 Amazon
18 3:11 Amazon
19 3:08 Amazon
20 3:04 Amazon
21 3:05 Amazon
22 3:09 Amazon
23 3:35 Amazon
24 3:01 Amazon
25 2:26
blue highlight denotes track pick