Various Artists

Lo Esencial de la Musica Tropical

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Lo Esencial de la Musical Tropical features a dozen lively tropical songs, including Orquesta Aragón's "El Bodeguero," Tito Puente's "Cao Cao Mani Picao," Pérez Prado's "Lupita," and Beny Moré's "Bonito y Sabroso." Other highlights include Aldemaro Romero's "Mango Manque," Tito Rodriguez's "Sabroso Mambo," and Noro Morales' "Maracaibo." Though it's not necessarily a definitive historical collection of tropical music, the album does feature enough of the style's roots to make it a better than average primer.

blue highlight denotes track pick