Llll-Little Eva!: The Complete Dimension Recordings

Little Eva

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Llll-Little Eva!: The Complete Dimension Recordings Review

by Cub Koda

Little Eva Boyd was Gerry Goffin and Carole King's babysitter and ace demo singer. Together, the three of them came up with the mega-million-seller "The Loco-motion" and its attendant album, one of the finest moments in Brill Building girl-group music history. Those 13 or so transcendent moments of glory are gathered together with 15 or so others culled from non-LP B-sides and later singles, making this the single best overview of her years at Dimension Records available. In addition to her biggest hit and her first album in its entirety, this also features her other chart hits "Let's Turkey Trot," "Keep Your Hands Off My Baby," "Old Smokey Locomotion" and her duets with Big Dee Irwin ("Swinging on a Star," "The Christmas Song," "I Wish You a Merry Christmas"). And just to perfectly bookend this collection -- which begins with "The Loco-motion" by Little Eva -- the closing track is a rare tribute track recorded and released in the early '60s: "Little Eva" by the Loco-Motions! A nice piece of rock & roll history, Brill Building style.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Little Eva 02:28 Amazon
2 Little Eva 03:00 Amazon
3 Little Eva 02:38 Amazon
4 Little Eva 02:25 Amazon
5 Little Eva 03:02 Amazon
6 Little Eva 02:15 Amazon
7 Little Eva 02:15 Amazon
8 Little Eva 02:26 Amazon
9 Little Eva 02:12 Amazon
10 Little Eva 02:54 Amazon
11 Little Eva 01:56 Amazon
12 Little Eva 02:53 Amazon
13 Little Eva 02:32 Amazon
14 Little Eva 02:30 Amazon
15 Little Eva 02:38 Amazon
16 Little Eva 02:33 Amazon
17 Little Eva 02:57 Amazon
18 Little Eva 02:33 Amazon
19 Little Eva 01:59 Amazon
20 Little Eva 02:48 Amazon
21 Little Eva 02:47 Amazon
22 Little Eva 03:02 Amazon
23 Little Eva 02:27 Amazon
Little Eva 02:25 Amazon
Little Eva 02:09 Amazon
Little Eva 02:39 Amazon
Little Eva 02:15 Amazon
28 Little Eva 02:55 Amazon
29 Little Eva 01:45 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick