Live Hits

Kool & the Gang

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Live Hits Review

by Andy Kellman

You wouldn't know it by glancing at the cover, but the material on Live Hits -- released by Rhino's budget-line Flashback division -- does not come from a '70s performance. Instead, this disc comes from the 1992/1993 Unite-era lineup (meaning no JT Taylor), and it rolls through some of the group's biggest hits, including "Jungle Boogie," "Celebration," "Get Down on It," and even "Take My Heart." These are slick, surprisingly bloodless performances, and the crowd noise is mixed to an unnaturally high level (if not patched in from another source). It's quite similar to Live, released around the same time by the always suspect St. Clair label, but it's kept to ten tracks, per Flashback's customary track limit. Needless to say, Live at P.J.'s (or even Live at the Sex Machine) it is not.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Kool & the Gang 04:54 Amazon
2 Kool & the Gang 04:50 Amazon
3 Kool & the Gang 03:31 Amazon
4 Kool & the Gang 03:19 Amazon
5 Kool & the Gang 03:47 Amazon
6 Kool & the Gang 04:58 Amazon
7 Kool & the Gang 02:27 Amazon
8 Kool & the Gang 04:22 Amazon
9 Kool & the Gang 04:34 Amazon
10 Kool & the Gang 02:26 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick