Live from Nashville

Daniel O'Donnell

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Live from Nashville Review

by Jon O'Brien

Fulfilling a lifelong ambition, Live from Nashville is the first of Irish crooner Daniel O'Donnell's 11 PBS specials to be recorded in the home of country music. A souvenir of the 2011 show at the Ryman Auditorium in Music City U.S.A., this 18-track collection includes material taken from his 2008 country & western release, Country Boy ("I'm Going to Be a Country Boy Again," "Ring of Fire"), alongside performances of classic standards from the likes of John Denver ("Thank God I'm a Country Boy"), Eddie Miller ("Please Release Me"), and Hank Williams ("Jambalaya [On the Bayou]") and traditional Irish folk songs including early 20th century ballad "Danny Boy," Irish immigrant tale "Isle of Hope," and a cover of Billy O'Dwyer's more contemporary "Tipperary Girl," which appeared on his most recent effort, Moon Over Ireland. Joining him in the celebration of all things country are Grammy-winning legend Charley Pride, who lends his smooth baritone vocals to the duet of his '60s hit "Crystal Chandeliers," longtime singing partner Mary Duff, who contributes to the jaunty rendition of Don Williams' "Love Me Tonight," and wife Majella, who showcases her talents on a cover version of Patsy Cline's "I Love You Honey." Unashamedly old-fashioned, Live from Nashville is unlikely to appeal to anyone younger than the rows of pensioners who can be seen mouthing every word on the TV special, but it's a feel-good listen that cements O'Donnell's status as his homeland's premier easy listening balladeer.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Daniel O'Donnell 02:44 Amazon
2 Daniel O'Donnell 03:46 Amazon
3 Daniel O'Donnell 03:35 Amazon
4 Daniel O'Donnell 02:43 Amazon
5 Daniel O'Donnell 05:00 Amazon
6 Daniel O'Donnell 02:59 Amazon
7 Daniel O'Donnell 02:45 Amazon
8 Daniel O'Donnell 02:48 Amazon
9 Daniel O'Donnell 03:03 Amazon
10 Daniel O'Donnell 01:19 Amazon
11 Daniel O'Donnell 01:30 Amazon
12 Daniel O'Donnell 02:24 Amazon
13 Daniel O'Donnell 03:20 Amazon
14 Daniel O'Donnell 02:22 Amazon
15 Daniel O'Donnell 02:51 Amazon
16 Daniel O'Donnell 04:43 Amazon
17 Daniel O'Donnell 02:57 Amazon
18 Daniel O'Donnell 03:25 Amazon
19 Daniel O'Donnell 04:55 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick