Live at the Sun Plaza Tokyo 1999

John Wetton

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Live at the Sun Plaza Tokyo 1999 Review

by Fran├žois Couture

Live at the Sun Plaza Tokyo 1999 was recorded on August 5, 1999, with Martin Orford on keyboards, David Kilminster on guitars, and Steve Christey on drums. The sound quality is very average, as if the show had been recorded with two microphones above the crowd; the musicians are heard from a distance, drums and voices echo, audience noises crawl on top of the music at times, and there are occasionally noticeable changes in the volume level. So this is either a poor official recording or a decent bootleg. The other problem with Live at the Sun Plaza Tokyo 1999 is that John Wetton's set list had remained very much the same throughout the late '90s: his solo songs (some from Arkangel, his latest studio release at the time) beside the usual King Crimson, UK, and Asia classics. There is not much difference between this live album and Live Tokyo 1997 or Sub Rosa (Live in Milan). The performance is decent enough with strong renditions of "Easy Money" and "Sole Survivor," although Wetton has difficulties pushing his voice to reach the higher notes. Due to its sound quality, this album would be recommendable only to fans, but since they probably already have the previous live recordings, one wonders what more can Live at the Sun Plaza Tokyo 1999 bring. A superfluous release.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
John Wetton 00:44 SpotifyAmazon
2 John Wetton 05:17 SpotifyAmazon
3 John Wetton 07:08 SpotifyAmazon
4 John Wetton 05:01 SpotifyAmazon
5 John Wetton 03:00 SpotifyAmazon
John Wetton 03:07 SpotifyAmazon
7 John Wetton 03:08 SpotifyAmazon
8 John Wetton 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
9 John Wetton 06:08 SpotifyAmazon
10 John Wetton 04:06 SpotifyAmazon
11 John Wetton 04:48 SpotifyAmazon
12 John Wetton 06:11 SpotifyAmazon
13 John Wetton 11:08 SpotifyAmazon
14 John Wetton 04:29 SpotifyAmazon
15 John Wetton 05:32 SpotifyAmazon
John Wetton 05:16 SpotifyAmazon
17 John Wetton 10:12 SpotifyAmazon
18 John Wetton 06:50 SpotifyAmazon
19 John Wetton 05:38 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick