Deep Purple

Live at Montreux 1996 & 2006

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Part of Eagle Records' Eagle Classics series, which bundles a pair of Eagle-issued releases into a budget-priced set, this two-fer from hard rock legends Deep Purple includes a couple of late period live outings. Live at Montreux 1996 features Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord, Steve Morse, and Ian Paice tearing through a set of hard-hitting DP classics like "Fireball," "Woman from Tokyo," and a lengthy "Smoke on the Water," while Live at Montreux 2006, the band's first live recording without Jon Lord, includes three tracks (The Wrong Man," "Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye," and "Rapture of Deep") from the band's 18th studio album, 2006's Rapture of the Deep, as well as live staples like "Space Truckin'" and a nearly nine-minute rendition of "Highway Star."

blue highlight denotes track pick