Jake Hanna

Live at Concord

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Hanna/Fontana band was a superior all-star septet that performed at the 1975 Concord Jazz Festival. The lineup of musicians heard here is impressive (drummer Jake Hanna, trombonist Carl Fontana, trumpeter Bill Berry, tenorman Plas Johnson, pianist Dave McKenna, guitarist Herb Ellis, and bassist Herb Mickman), and everyone is well-featured on the seven swinging and generally swing-era standards. Fontana in particular has been heard in this type of setting too infrequently on record. Highlights include Johnson's ballad feature on "Old Folks," "Take the 'A' Train," and Hanna's classic brushwork on "I Found a New Baby." Easily recommended to mainstream jazz collectors.