Live 2012


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Live 2012 Review

by James Christopher Monger

Released nine years after the group's first live outing, the elaborately titled Live 2003, Live 2012, Coldplay's second foray into the concert film/album arena, offers up an inside peek at the band's Mylo Xyloto world tour. As one would expect, the set list favors their fifth studio album, with nine of the fifteen tracks representing, but the band leaves room for past hits like "In My Place," "Viva la Vida," "Yellow," and "Clocks" ("The Scientist" and "Politik" are relegated to the film version). Culled from recordings taken from concerts in Paris, France, Montreal, Canada, and Glastonbury, England, all of which took place (oddly enough) in 2011, the tour featured a 90-minute set and included a dizzying array of visuals, including the usual assortment of stadium-appropriate-sized explosions and video screens, as well as fan-adorned LED wrist bands that pulsed in time with the music, all of which can be experienced by consumers in the comfort of their own homes with the deluxe CD/DVD version of Live 2012. The parental advisory/explicit content sticker that adorns the package is there to protect children and the elderly from being caught off guard by Chris Martin's superfluous, between-song F-bombs.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Coldplay 00:56 Amazon
2 Coldplay 04:16 Amazon
3 Coldplay 03:54 Amazon
4 Coldplay 03:39 Amazon
5 Coldplay 06:51 Amazon
6 Coldplay 05:21 Amazon
7 Coldplay 03:48 Amazon
8 Coldplay 03:17 Amazon
9 Coldplay 04:58 Amazon
10 Coldplay 05:00 Amazon
11 Coldplay 05:32 Amazon
12 Coldplay 03:52 Amazon
13 Coldplay 04:44 Amazon
14 Coldplay 05:00 Amazon
15 Coldplay 05:24 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Coldplay Amazon
2 Coldplay Amazon
3 Coldplay Amazon
4 Coldplay Amazon
5 Coldplay Amazon
6 Coldplay Amazon
7 Coldplay Amazon
8 Coldplay Amazon
9 Coldplay Amazon
10 Coldplay Amazon
11 Coldplay Amazon
12 Coldplay Amazon
13 Coldplay Amazon
14 Coldplay Amazon
15 Coldplay Amazon
16 Coldplay Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick