Art Tatum

Live 1951, Vol. 5

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The fifth of eight Art Tatum CDs that is comprised of previously unreleased material, this enjoyable program features the remarkable pianist during three appearances in 1951 at the Embers and on a radio show. The first four selections have Tatum leading a trio that also includes guitarist Everett Barksdale and bassist Slam Stewart while the other numbers are all piano solos. While some of the performances are set pieces, there are also a few selections not often recorded by Tatum, including a brief and rapid "Flying Home," "Honeysuckle Rose," "Just a-Sittin' and a-Rockin'," and a medley of Gershwin songs. This disc also gives one an opportunity to hear Tatum's voice, in his comments to Willis Conover during the radio broadcast and in a three-minute interview with Leonard Feather. Tatum collectors will want all of the discs in this very valuable series for even on the most familiar treatments (such as "Begin the Beguine"), Tatum's playing still comes across as miraculous.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:57 Spotify
2 4:58 Spotify
3 5:02 Spotify
4 1:20 Spotify
5 3:14 Spotify
6 2:46 Spotify
7 3:25 Spotify
8 3:28 Spotify
9 4:06 Spotify
10 2:18 Spotify
11 3:07 Spotify
12 2:48
13 4:20 Spotify
14 1:07 Spotify
16 3:42 Spotify
17 3:45 Spotify
18 3:14 Spotify
19 4:00 Spotify
20 3:31 Spotify
21 4:19
blue highlight denotes track pick