L.A. Guns

Live! A Night on the Strip

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Recorded appropriately enough on the Sunset Strip in Los Angeles, Live! A Night on the Strip commemorates an October 7, 1999, performance by LA Guns at the Key Club on Hollywood's Sunset Boulevard, right in the heart of what was glam rock central during the group's late-'80s heyday. It had been awhile since the classic lineup of Philip Lewis (on vocals), Tracii Guns (on lead guitar), Mick Cripps (rhythm guitar), Kelly Nickels (bass guitar), and Steve Riley (on drums) had joined up on stage to perform all of L.A. Guns' sleazy hits, and judging by the energetic performances, they were excited about that opportunity. From the first guitar strains of "Face Down" all the way through the closing moments of "Rip N' Tear," the group stomp and howl like it's 1988 all over again. For these guys, maybe nothing changed as their music and attitude comes through on Live! A Night on the Strip like they mean every word and every note. Hits like "Sex Action" and "Kiss My Love Goodbye" work their smart-mouthed magic, as do lesser-known but equally rocking numbers like "One More Reason" and "Nothing Better to Do." All in all, this is a fine effort that fans of the group -- especially of the band's live performances -- should enjoy.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:23 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:44 SpotifyAmazon
3 4:00 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:48 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:21 SpotifyAmazon
6 5:06 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:48 SpotifyAmazon
8 6:23 SpotifyAmazon
9 4:16 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:40 SpotifyAmazon
11 0:59 SpotifyAmazon
12 4:32 SpotifyAmazon
13 6:17 SpotifyAmazon
14 5:06 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick