Various Artists

Liquid Sound, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Dean Carlson

The first Liquid Sound installment collects the eco-electronic ambient and new age music of Jessica, Star Sound Orchestra, Kookoon, and the appropriately named Hippiehaus. Though based around 1980s synthesizers, many of the selections incorporate more naturalistic instruments such as the spaghetti Middle Eastern acoustic guitar in Schönwälder & Friends' "Rhonda." Opera to Relax's "Kyle of Lochalsh" is a notable composition of sliding bass, metallic chimes, water droplets, Neotropic's "Sunflower Girl," and, of course, whispered, operatic female vocals. Unembarrassingly satisfying.