They Might Be Giants


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Cutting away some of the artier aspects of their debut, They Might Be Giants craft another wildly eclectic and geekily fun collection of alt-pop with Lincoln. In general, the album displays greater musical ambition than its predecessor, especially since the duo have trimmed many of the weirder excesses of the debut. Without such arty trappings, their gift for irresistible pop hooks becomes all the more clear, with "Ana Ng," "Purple Toupee," the Latin shuffle of "The World's Address," "Santa's Beard," the surprisingly affecting "They'll Need a Crane," and the lounge jazz of "Kiss Me, Son of God" standing out among the 18 songs. And when They Might Be Giants don't go for the hooks, as on "Pencil Rain" or "Cage & Aquarium," they prove to be expert musical satirists, which means that Lincoln is every bit as infectious as the debut.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:23 SpotifyAmazon
2 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
3 02:06 SpotifyAmazon
4 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
5 01:10 SpotifyAmazon
6 03:06 SpotifyAmazon
7 02:00 SpotifyAmazon
8 01:52 SpotifyAmazon
9 02:42 SpotifyAmazon
10 02:24 SpotifyAmazon
11 02:36 SpotifyAmazon
12 01:55 SpotifyAmazon
13 01:53 SpotifyAmazon
14 02:33 SpotifyAmazon
15 01:13 SpotifyAmazon
16 01:16 SpotifyAmazon
17 02:31 SpotifyAmazon
18 01:52 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick