Kirk Lightsey

Lightsey 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For his second Sunnyside release (four of the selections are actually from the same date that resulted in the previous Lightsey 1), pianist Kirk Lightsey performs eight stimulating piano solos. The emphasis is on modern jazz originals, including tunes by Tony Williams, Wayne Shorter, Sonny Rollins and Phil Woods ("Goodbye Mr. Evans") plus three of Lightsey's own tunes. In addition, singer Roslyn Burrough makes a guest appearance on "You Are So Beautiful." Excellent music.