Cole Porter

Let's Misbehave! A Cole Porter Collection, 1927-1940

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This album of vintage recordings of Cole Porter songs mixes eight of Porter's own performances of his compositions with renditions that were hits when the songs were new. The basic selection criterion is revealed in the album's title; there is an emphasis placed here on Porter's more risqué and provocative numbers. Songs like "Let's Misbehave" (in a version by Irving Aaronson & His Commanders that was the equivalent of a Top Ten hit in 1928) and "Let's Do It (Let's Fall in Love)" (even in this prim rendering by Rudy Vallée) leave nothing to the imagination, of course. "Love for Sale" (by Fred Waring & His Pennsylvanians) is clearly about prostitution, "Miss Otis Regrets" (by Ethel Waters) is a tale of jealousy and murder, and "Find Me a Primitive Man" (by Lee Wiley) is about the attraction of animal lust. In comparison, the witty double entendres of "The Physician" (sung by Porter) and "You've Got That Thing" (a hit for Leo Reisman & His Orchestra) may seem tame, but they were suggestive, too. Generally, Porter's performances are of relatively obscure tunes, but he also gives listeners his versions of the standards "Anything Goes" and "You're the Top." The album cover claims the collection features original cast recordings, which is not true, although Ethel Merman is heard singing "Down in the Depths (On the 90th Floor)," a song she sang in Red, Hot and Blue! This is a well-organized selection of Porter material, especially notable for containing so many recordings by the songwriter himself, even if it is not a comprehensive survey of his career.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:54
2 3:36
3 3:27
4 2:31
5 2:55
6 3:00
7 2:57
8 2:59
feat: Leo Reisman
feat: Lee Wiley
11 2:44
12 2:28
feat: Jack Hylton
14 3:09
15 3:18
16 3:11
feat: Xavier Cugat
feat: Rudy Vallée
blue highlight denotes track pick