Various Artists

Let It Rock 1991

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Direct Source's Let It Rock 1991 is a 12-track look at the chart pop of the year in question. A majority of the tracks are drawn from the dance-pop realm, the rest being a strange mix of mainstream rock and alternative. Many big hits are included, like EMF's "Unbelievable," Gerardo's "Rico Suave," Another Bad Creation's "Playground," and Extreme's "More Than Words." The rest of the disc is made up of mid-level hits by Aaron Neville ("Everybody Plays the Fool"), Shanice ("I Love Your Smile"), and Johnny Gill ("Wrap My Body Tight"). The set is too brief and too limited in scope (Nirvana? Pearl Jam?) to be a true picture of what was happening musically in 1991. In fact, it makes 1991 look like one of the worst years in the history of music.

blue highlight denotes track pick