Various Artists

Let It Rock 1984

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Direct Source's Let It Rock 1984 gathers up 12 songs from that year. The set includes some of the year's biggest hits in a variety of styles. There are new wave classics like Duran Duran's "Wild Boys" and Billy Idol's "Flesh for Fantasy," mainstream rock hits like John Waite's "Missing You" and Huey Lewis & the News' "The Heart of Rock & Roll," urban smashes from Ashford & Simpson ("Solid") and Midnight Star ("Operator"), and some lesser hits from one-hit wonders like Rick Springfield ("Love Somebody") and Corey Hart ("It Ain't Enough"). It also includes one of the great forgotten pop tunes of the era, Dwight Twilley's wonderfully silly "Girls." Although it is too brief and for some reason includes two Huey Lewis songs, the collection does function serviceably as a low-priced intro to the sounds of 1984.

blue highlight denotes track pick