Lemmings Travel to the Sea


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Lemmings Travel to the Sea Review

by Denise Sullivan

Expanding their guitar roots and moving into the Americana sphere, Dumptruck, led by songwriter and vocalist Seth Tiven, has shaped a contemporary roots rock record nearly 20 years after forming. Having relocated from Boston to Austin, shades of off-center drawl and a loose spin on Americana drives tracks like "Curse" and the guitar screamers "Waste My Time," "Security," and "Faithless" return to the old school of Green on Red and Dream Syndicate. The package includes a bonus CD filled with live material from 1986 and 1988 (the Dumptruck heyday) displaying the band's impeccable taste and foresight in covers: Dylan's "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere" and "Idiot Wind," Neil Young's "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere," and cult band the Embarrassment's "Sex Drive." Some songs never go out of style -- the same can be said of Dumptruck.

blue highlight denotes track pick