The Delfonics

La La Means I Love You/Sound of Sexy Soul

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Delfonics were one of the first vocal groups that producer Thom Bell fitted with his trademark "Philly sound," and they were also one of the best, as well, adapting easily to the smooth, string-washed urban sophistication that went into Bell's arrangements. This set combines the group's first two LPs, 1968's La La Means I Love You and 1969's Sound of Sexy Soul, on one disc, along with a period bonus track, 1969's "You Got Yours and I'll Get Mine," and since both albums are of a piece, it makes for a perfect sonic and artistic pairing. The early hits are here, including the classic "La La Means I Love You," and the delicate and gorgeous "I'm Sorry," but some of the non-single tracks are also quite striking, particularly a revamping of Little Anthony & the Imperials' "Hurts So Bad," a quite passable take on Marvin Gaye's "Ain't That Peculiar," and a mildly psychedelic and orchestrated rendition of "Scarborough Fair." The end result is both a fine introduction to one of Philadelphia's finest vocal groups as well as being a pleasant, uplifting listen from start to finish.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:47
2 03:01 Amazon
3 03:20 Amazon
4 02:01 Amazon
5 02:28
6 02:46 Amazon
7 03:18
8 02:33 Amazon
9 03:16 Amazon
10 02:57 Amazon
11 02:13 Amazon
12 02:01 Amazon
13 02:21 Amazon
14 02:17 Amazon
15 02:04
16 01:47 Amazon
17 02:13 Amazon
18 02:57 Amazon
19 02:07
20 02:49 Amazon
21 03:22 Amazon
22 02:18
23 02:44 Amazon
24 03:19
blue highlight denotes track pick