Big K.R.I.T.


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Mississippi rapper Big K.R.I.T.'s fourth studio album follows 2017's sprawling, highly personal double LP 4eva Is a Mighty Long Time, and appears to be a sequel to his breakout mixtape, 2010's K.R.I.T. Wuz Here. K.R.I.T. IZ HERE is a bit more back-to-basics than 4eva, but it's still an ambitious, stylistically varied set of tracks. Much of it consists of triumphant bangers, with K.R.I.T. at his confident, world-conquering best. Opener "K.R.I.T. HERE" bursts with luscious soul samples and massive, booming beats, and "Make It Easy" is along similar lines but more sentimental, filled with weeping strings. He flips from smooth, sensuous R&B (the Rico Love-assisted "Obvious") to cold, vengeful trap with "I Made" (featuring Yella Beezy), an austere dismissal of anyone who doubted K.R.I.T.'s success. While his harder side is consistently thrilling, some of the calmer songs shine bright as well, particularly the relaxed, soulful "Everytime" (with Baby Rose) and the plush "Blue Flame Ballet." "Learned from Texas" is a loving tribute to the rapper's biggest Dirty South influences, namely UGK and DJ Screw, while "Outer Space" finds him in existentialist mode, reflecting on his place in the cosmos over soft, sparkling bleeps and a snaking bass line. The swinging "M.I.S.S.I.S.S.I.P.P.I." nods to K.R.I.T.'s upbringing, seamlessly blending gospel organs and jazzy horns and upright bass with intricate drum programming. Well-rounded and creative, the album is another solid showcase of K.R.I.T.'s talents.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 03:22
2 00:48
3 02:28
4 02:53
5 02:52
6 03:17
7 03:25
8 02:29
9 03:53
10 02:48
11 03:24
12 03:17
13 00:28
14 03:30
15 03:14
16 03:02
17 03:45
18 03:04
19 05:08
blue highlight denotes track pick