Kool & the Gang

Kool & the Gang

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Kool & the Gang Review

by JT Griffith

Kool & the Gang's funky debut was an unexpected hit, with a first single (self-titled) climbing both the pop and R&B charts. Subsequent singles -- "The Gang's Back Again," "Let the Music Take Your Mind," and "Funky Man," -- followed the first into the charts, and there were plenty of other standout tracks: "Raw Hamburger," "Chocolate Buttermilk," and "Kool's Back Again." Though barely over a half an hour long, Kool and the Gang is a blast of a record containing strong elements that would become the band's trademarks: smooth melodies, suave rhythms, and brassy horns. This is one of Kool & the Gang's jazzier albums and a strong debut worth checking out, though less accessible than any of their later pop recordings.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Kool & the Gang 02:58 Amazon
2 Kool & the Gang 05:30 Amazon
3 Kool & the Gang 02:15 Amazon
4 Kool & the Gang 03:34 Amazon
5 Kool & the Gang 03:41 Amazon
6 Kool & the Gang 02:08 Amazon
7 Kool & the Gang 02:54 Amazon
8 Kool & the Gang 02:45 Amazon
9 Kool & the Gang 03:38 Amazon
10 Kool & the Gang 02:59 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick