The Weavers

Kisses Sweeter Than Wine

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This two-disc live set is drawn from vintage concerts by the original Weavers from the early to mid-'50s. It captures them at the height of their fame and during the chilly era of McCarthyism. It's a good example of how the political leanings (perceived or real) of the performances color essentially neutral material. The performances themselves sound immediate and not at all dated. It's great to hear the vocal blend and commitment to a world of songwriting rarely equaled since the Weavers broke up. Ford Hellerman, who compiled this album from a variety of previously unreleased sources including concerts at Town Hall, has left in many of the song's introductions and comments among the group. We really get to feel their enthusiam and "History in the Making." The hits are here in new versions that stand up well to the "standard" versions. There are 11 songs never released in any form on Weavers records. As an added bonus and not mentioned on the package anywhere is the inclusion of a third CD of previously unreleased material by Leadbelly recorded in 1947. He performs a dozen driving blues songs including "Howard Hughs," "Hangman's Blues" and "Black Betty," and it sounds great.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:22
2 3:02
3 2:30
4 2:02
5 2:58
6 2:25
8 3:16
9 2:47
10 2:37
11 3:34
12 3:35
13 1:45
15 2:07
16 2:23
18 2:15
19 2:08
20 3:23
21 3:06
blue highlight denotes track pick