Nicole Scherzinger

Killer Love

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Work on Nicole Scherzinger’s debut began way back in 2005, just after the release of the Pussycat Dolls’ first album, but things never quite went as planned. Years passed and the album never materialized, perhaps because every single released failed to make more than a ripple on the charts, and the album was pushed back in favor of a second Pussycat Dolls album in 2008, and when that still didn’t ignite Scherzinger’s solo career, she wound up appearing on and winning Dancing with the Stars in 2010. After that, Killer Love -- the original title Her Name Is Nicole long being abandoned -- saw the light of day in Europe before making its way over to her native U.S. There’s no clear reason for the slow roll-out other than the album is about as anonymous as an actual Pussycat Dolls album, a professional piece of product that hits all of its marks with nary a hint of flair. Scherzinger sings with the finesse of a demo singer, serving the needs of the song without betraying a hint of personality, pushing Killer Love into the domain of the producers, primarily RedOne, The-Dream, and StarGate here. Everybody does fine work but there’s a sense that nobody is operating at his A-game: there are no powerful hooks in the rhythms or melodies, leaving the distinct impression that they’ve cobbled the album together from a clutch of Rihanna rejects.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:47
2 3:52 Spotify
3 3:17 Spotify
4 4:02 Spotify
5 4:16 Spotify
3:36 Spotify
7 3:29 Spotify
8 4:06 Spotify
9 4:08 Spotify
10 3:27 Spotify
11 3:48 Spotify
12 3:31
13 4:21 Spotify
14 5:20 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick