The Teardrop Explodes


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Armed with trumpeters Ray Martinez and Hurricane Smith who add soaring flourishes and energetic blasts throughout, on Kilimanjaro the Teardrops explode in a torrent of creative, kicky and often downright fun songs that hotwire garage/psych inspirations into something more. Steering clear of ham-handed attempts to be commercially "new wave" while at the same time sounding young, bright and alive, the foursome go happily nuts with great results. Cope is already a commanding singer and frontman; his clever lyrics and strong projection result in a series of confident performances, whether his trading lines with himself on the motorik chug of "Sleeping Gas" or his yelps on "Books." For all the bad energy between himself and Balfe, the two sound like they're grafted at the hip throughout, the latter's keyboard washes and staccato melodies adding the fun, nervy vibe. Dwyer's spot-on drumming keeps the pace, while both guitarists, Finkler and his replacement Gill, don't drown the band in feedback to the exclusion of everything else. One listen to many of Gill's pieces, on songs like "Poppies," and Cope's oft-stated claim that early U2 was trying to rip off the Teardrops and other Liverpool/Manchester groups makes sense. Though it was assembled from a variety of different sessions Kilimanjaro still sounds cohesive. Perfectly hummable choruses, great arrangements and production and Cope's smiling vibe all add up with fantastic results. The sweet romance of "When I Dream" closes out this entertaining debut.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:54 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:46 SpotifyAmazon
3 2:57 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:11 SpotifyAmazon
5 5:05 Amazon
6 2:40 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:31 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:27 SpotifyAmazon
9 2:36 SpotifyAmazon
10 3:09 SpotifyAmazon
11 7:13
12 2:44 SpotifyAmazon
13 4:31 SpotifyAmazon
14 4:44 SpotifyAmazon
15 5:49 SpotifyAmazon
16 2:54 SpotifyAmazon
17 9:27 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick