Bootsy's New Rubber Band / Bootsy Collins

Keepin' dah Funk "Alive" 4: 1995

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This live double set overcomes some of the tentative feeling of Collins' 1994 debut on Rykodisc and builds some of the thump back into the funk, with Collins and band (which includes longtime P-Funk supporters like keyboardist Bernie Worrell, vocalist Mudbone Cooper and drummer Frankie "Kash" Waddy) putting serious energy into an 18-number set recorded in Tokyo, Japan. Curiously enough, Bootsy trades off bass duties with guitarist Flip Cornett, so some cuts feature Bootsy playing rhythm guitar rather than his famous Space Bass -- the latter not always being needed on some of the songs. The playing is tight and cheerful, with lots of call-and-response going on with the audience. Fun was obviously had by all concerned, and that projects nicely on this double set, making it an entertaining listen even though the majority of the numbers will be more than a little familiar to longtime passengers on the Mothership.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 01:37
2 05:19
3 03:40
4 02:42
5 02:03
6 04:11
7 03:07
8 07:14
9 09:38
10 03:59
11 04:46
12 01:16
13 03:09
blue highlight denotes track pick