Ralph Bowen

Keep the Change

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Keep the Change is the third session by tenor saxophonist Ralph Bowen for the Criss Cross label. Bowen assembled an impressive quintet of in-demand New York musicians including trumpeter Ryan Kisor, pianist Orrin Evans, bassist Reuben Rogers, and drummer Gregory Hutchinson. Bowen and company stay away from rehashing the same old standards, the exception being a brisk stroll through "In the Good Old Summertime" with a nine-track set of neo-bop, including the disc's high point: Bowen's composition "Elevation," which originally appeared on Orrin Evans' 2002 release Meant to Shine. While this may not be a groundbreaking session, fans of modern bop should definitely check it out.

blue highlight denotes track pick