• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Having apparently contracted the neo-electro, indie-dance fever that was so contagious in 2009, the usually trance producer and stadium DJ Tiësto pulls out some surprises with his fourth effort, Kaleidoscope, a diverse album guided by its rangy guest list. The most surprising (and the most successful) collaboration is placed right up front, when Sigur Rós vocalist Jónsi and a nostalgic Tiësto conjure the spirit of Tangerine Dream for an electronic, meditative title track that captivates for seven-and-a-half minutes. It's the album's creative high point and Tiësto's most risky cut to date, but the alternative dance and indie ideas don't stop here, as Australia's Sneaky Sound System bounce between soul and Kate Bush-like drama for the great club track "I Will Be Here." Calvin Harris brings more retro ('80s-flavored this time) and some humor ("Now put your hands in the air/For a century") to the party, while Bloc Party singer Kele Okereke offers some convincing art-pop heartbreak on the memorable "It's Not the Things You Say." Longtime fans get a handful of widescreen instrumentals plus familiar-sounding, straight dance tracks with Nelly Furtado plus Tilly and the Wall member Kianna Alarid. An overstuffed track list makes this otherwise accessible album a bit too cumbersome, but with a little editing, Kaleidoscope is an unexpected and satisfying step forward from a producer who could have racked up the big numbers by sticking with his proven formula.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 07:36 Amazon
2 04:17 Amazon
3 04:10 Amazon
4 03:26 Amazon
5 05:39 Amazon
6 04:55 Amazon
7 01:33 Amazon
8 03:14 Amazon
9 05:23 Amazon
10 04:42 Amazon
11 04:52 Amazon
12 04:36 Amazon
13 04:13 Amazon
14 03:23 Amazon
15 05:06 Amazon
16 04:10 Amazon
17 02:39 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick