Doris Troy

Just One Look: The Best of Doris Troy

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Just One Look: The Best of Doris Troy Review

by Richie Unterberger

This 21-track anthology of her 1963-65 Atlantic sides is as comprehensive as one could ask for. It includes all of her singles, her rare album, three cuts only issued on British singles, and her rare 1965 single for the Calla label, "I'll Do Anything (He Wants Me To Do)." Besides "Just One Look," there are quite a few other downright excellent lost gems here: "What'cha Gonna Do About It," the bluesy "Draw Me Closer," the driving "You'd Better Stop" (with a fierce guitar break that sounds like a young Jimmy Page), and the soulful wall of sound on "I'll Do Anything." "How My Heart Aches" is a special standout that ranks among the very finest wrenching, melancholy soul ever waxed. Much more than a collector's item, this proves Troy to be a genuinely overlooked major talent.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Doris Troy 02:28 Amazon
2 Doris Troy 02:03 Amazon
3 Doris Troy 02:40 Amazon
4 Doris Troy 01:56 Amazon
5 Doris Troy 02:50 Amazon
6 Doris Troy 02:02 Amazon
Doris Troy 02:22 Amazon
8 Doris Troy 01:45 Amazon
9 Doris Troy 02:30 Amazon
Doris Troy 03:00 Amazon
11 Doris Troy 02:09 Amazon
12 Doris Troy 03:11 Amazon
13 Doris Troy 02:46 Amazon
14 Doris Troy 02:36 Amazon
15 Doris Troy 02:25 Amazon
16 Doris Troy 02:29 Amazon
17 Doris Troy 02:28 Amazon
18 Doris Troy 03:10 Amazon
19 Doris Troy 02:28 Amazon
20 Doris Troy 02:54 Amazon
21 Doris Troy 02:30 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick