Just Kill Me

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Hailing from Southern California, pop-punkers Slutmagnet self-released Just Kill Me in 1998. As the name would suggest, these mookish dudes enjoy snickering at all things adolescent -- including themselves -- while delivering the kind of locker-room punk most notably practiced by Blink-182. The group's high-speed, cheeky rock comes courtesy of Matt Magnet (vocals/guitars,) Andy Orgazm (drums,) Felipe Durt (guitars), and Toby Wagon (bass) -- four San Diego area musicians who truly make a righteous SoCal punk noise. More than a Blink-182 knock-off, Slutmagnet used urgent performances and quality material to generate a decent underground fan base following the release of Just Kill Me. Highlight tracks include "Love Song," "Pink Happiness," and the goofy, untitled electronic meanderings at the end of the disc. As the herd of '90s major label "punk" charlatans descended upon America with their video strut and youth culture marketing ploys, carefree releases like this Slutmagnet offering suggested that punk's reckless ethos might not dead.