Bobby Jones & the New Life Singers / Bobby Jones

Just Churchin'

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Recorded live in Nashville and released on the Gospocentric label, this effort from Bobby Jones and New Life is positive, Christian music you can groove to. Powered by the truly impressive singing of the Nashville Super Choir, JUST CHURCHIN' combines traditional gospel forms with the sounds of contemporary soul and R&B. New Life features a band of crack musicians, a core of eight singers and special guests such as Vanessa Bell-Armstrong (whose elastic voice seems to know no restrictions) and Maya Angelou.

The group shift styles easily between ballads, swing, slick funk and soul-stirring hand-clappers, while bandleader and vocalist Jones bears witness through the album's thirteen tracks about salvation and redemption through Jesus. Songs like "Trust In The Lord" and "No Not One" turn out the jams with pulpit-stomping abandon and slower numbers like "Steal Away" provide soothing, thought-provoking contrast. Jones' sermonizing between tracks is kept to a minimum and he lets the music, which is powerful and well-executed throughout, do the talking. Nominated for a Grammy in 1999.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:03
2 5:35
3 7:04
4 5:09
5 5:36
6 7:30
7 4:56
8 6:43
9 4:34
10 4:39
11 5:17
12 5:33
blue highlight denotes track pick