Miceal O'Rourke

John Field: Piano Works

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

John Field: Piano Works Review

by James Leonard

Listeners who already know and love Irish pianist Míceál O'Rourke's landmark recordings of John Field's 18 Nocturnes or his exceptional recordings of his six piano concertos will have to hear this two-disc set of O'Rourke's recordings of the same composer's four sonatas plus 17 other works for the piano. The same level of compositional skill is evident in all Field's work no matter what the genre. The Irish composer clearly knew how to make a piano sing, and the sonatas on the first disc prove as structurally cogent and convincing as the concerto. The same cannot be said of the lighter pieces on the second disc, but since his Irish Dance, Chanson russe variée, and Sehnsuchtswalzer were hardly intended to scale the same musical or emotional heights as the sonatas, this cannot be held against them. As in his other Field recordings, O'Rourke is a fervent believer in the music. With agile fingers, a firm touch, and light use of the sustain pedal, O'Rourke is well equipped for the works' technical requirements, and with his lyrical phrasing and blended tone, he is likewise well prepared for the music's expressive demands. Though those who don't already know Field's masterful Nocturnes are urged to seek them out first, preferably in O'Rourke's performances, those who do will certainly enjoy these discs. Recorded for Chandos by producer Tim Oldham in 1989 and 1991, the digital sound here is close, warm, and intimate.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Miceal O'Rourke 05:49 Amazon
2 Miceal O'Rourke 04:30 Amazon
3 Miceal O'Rourke 02:49 Amazon
4 Miceal O'Rourke 10:43 Amazon
5 Miceal O'Rourke 04:42 Amazon
6 Miceal O'Rourke 07:29 Amazon
7 Miceal O'Rourke 06:10 Amazon
8 Miceal O'Rourke 03:05 Amazon
9 Miceal O'Rourke 03:51 Amazon
10 Miceal O'Rourke 06:40 Amazon
11 Miceal O'Rourke 04:14 Amazon
12 Miceal O'Rourke 02:54 Amazon
13 Miceal O'Rourke 06:36 Amazon
Album Leaves (2), in C minor, for piano
14 Miceal O'Rourke 00:53 Amazon
15 Miceal O'Rourke 01:34 Amazon
16 Miceal O'Rourke 07:04 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick