Jock Rock, Vol. 2

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Jock Rock, Vol. 2 Review

by Alex Henderson

Tommy Boy and ESPN were reunited in 1995, when Tommy Boy released Vol. 2 of its Jock Rock series. Like its predecessor, Vol. 2 focuses on a variety of well known rock and R&B smashes that have been used at American sporting events and creates a sports-like ambiance through the use of organ riffs, crowd applause and other devices. Exuberance was a necessary ingredient on all of the selections, and that includes everything from 1950s rockabilly (Jerry Lee Lewis' "Great Balls of Fire"), 1960s soul (Aretha Franklin's "Respect," the Isley Brothers' "Twist and Shout," the Capitols' "Cool Jerk," Sam & Dave's "Hold On, I'm Comin'") and 1960s rock & roll (Sam The Sham's "Wooly Bully," the Kingsmen's "Louie Louie," the Human Beinz's "Nobody But Me") to 1970s soul (War's "Low Rider") and 1970s hard rock (Kiss' "Rock and Roll All Nite"). Another necessary ingredient was accessibility--if a team is trying to excite a crowd immediately, the last thing it wants is a song that's angular and hard to absorb. Whether or not you're interested in sports, Jock Rock, Vol. 2 is a very fun party album.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 The Alan Parsons Project 01:05 Amazon
00:04 Amazon
3 Raymond Castoldi 00:42 Amazon
4 Kiss 02:49 Amazon
5 Aretha Franklin 02:18 Amazon
6 Sam the Sham & the Pharaohs 02:17 Amazon
00:15 Amazon
8 Sam & Dave 02:28 Amazon
9 War 03:01 Amazon
10 Raymond Castoldi 00:25 Amazon
11 Jerry Lee Lewis 01:49 Amazon
12 Rare Earth 02:46 Amazon
00:14 Amazon
14 The Jackson 5 02:50 Amazon
00:09 Amazon
16 The Human Beinz 02:11 Amazon
17 The Capitols 02:36 Amazon
18 Raymond Castoldi 00:26 Amazon
19 Mitch Ryder & the Detroit Wheels 03:01 Amazon
00:04 Amazon
21 The Isley Brothers 02:26 Amazon
22 The Kingsmen 02:42 Amazon
23 Queen 02:59 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick